top of page
Search

Always the Roses II by Durell Carter


 

Violets would be roses

If we found value in the

Hues that remind us of

Midnight,

And the soil that gives birth

To pomegranates,

And the tropical fruit

That the farmers of consciousness

Forget to water.

Someday, when my son is old enough

To know good and evil

Is not equated with

Light and dark,

But the way we manipulate the two,

I’ll pluck a Hellebore

And tell him to keep it

In the translucent vase my grandfather

Passed down to me.

I want the silent audience

To see how beautiful Black is

When given the opportunity

To feel the effulgence

That time has kept from them.



 

Durell Carter is a teacher and a writer based out of Oklahoma. He recently graduated with a graduate degree from the University of Central Oklahoma. He has published work in Petrichor journal, From Whispers to Roars, Prometheus Dreaming, and other publications.

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How To Have a Mid-Life Crisis by Susan Peck

Your existential dread must reach a crescendo. Your fifteen-year-old daughter Brie walks into your study to tell you, “Dad, can you not come to my parent-teacher conference.” She explains how you’re t

Don't Hold Your Breath by Konner Sauve

Catch my eye again Misery and hope lumped together I swore I’d curse your presence, but sprinkles fall softly on this barren ground The throbs of my soul shake the earth as misery cracks the land. The

bottom of page